Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO closes the Dakar Rally 2019 with a podium placement and takes its four trucks across the finish line in the Top 10


The 41st edition of the world’s most difficult race has come to an end after 5,000 kilometers driven on extreme terrains. Gerard de Rooy achieved the third place in the overall classification, winning another podium for Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO. The Team succeeded in taking its four trucks all the way to the last checkpoint, placing all of them in the Top 10.   


Lima, 18th January 2019


The 41st edition of the world’s toughest rally race, the Dakar 2019, has come to a close with another excellent performance from Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO: having covered 5,000 km on the extremely challenging sandy soil of the Peruvian deserts, Gerard De Rooy won the third place, closely followed by Federico Villagra in fourth, with Ton Van Genugten and Maurik van den Heuvel achieving 7th and 10th position in the overall classification. 


The first challenge facing every team competing in a Dakar Rally is to reach the final finish line, and only a few manage to do this with all their vehicles: this year, Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO has not only won a podium placement, it has also succeeded in taking all four IVECO Powerstars to the finish line in the Top 10.


The Dakar 2019 finished with the stage linking Pisco and Lima with 112 timed kilometres, in which Ton van Genugten won his second special of this year’s edition, making it three special wins for the Team in the ten days of the race. 


The three other IVECO Powerstar trucks crossed the finish line shortly after, with Team Leader Gerard de Rooy finishing in the Top 5 for seventh time in this edition of the Dakar. His fifth place in the last stage clinched his place on the podium as third overall. Federico Villagra finished the most difficult rally raid in the world achieving a fourth position in the overall classification.

Maurik van den Heuvel placed the fourth IVECO Powerstar truck in the Top 10 in the overall classification. The Dutchman was fourth, achieving another great result for Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO, which not only succeeded in taking its four trucks to the finish line, but placed them all in the Top 10.



1. Ton van Genugten (IVECO)   1h28m21s

2. Ales Loprais (Tatra)    +3m11s

3. Dmitry Sotnikov (Kamaz)   +5m23s

4. Maurik van den Heuvel (IVECO)  +6m05s

5. Gerard de Rooy (IVECO)   +7m56s


7. Federico Villagra (IVECO)   +9m46s 



1. Eduard Nikolaev (Kamaz)   41h01m35s

2. Dmitry Sotnikov (Kamaz)   +25m36s

3. Gerard de Rooy (IVECO)   +1h34m44s

4. Federico Villagra (IVECO)   +5h49m08s

5. Ales Loprais (Tatra)    +5h59m51s


7. Ton van Genugten (IVECO)   +9h15m26s

10. Maurik van den Heuvel (IVECO)  +11h54m15s


Got Questions?